Martin County DUI Defense Lawyer
Stuart DUI Lawyer Martin DUI Defense Lawyer Law Firm Profile Common Criminal Defense Questions Free Case Evaluation Contact Us






DUI Defense
DUI Overview
Challenging DUI Charges
2nd Offense DUI
Felony DUI
Blood Alcohol Content
Blood / Breath Tests
Field Sobriety Tests
Spring Break DUI
Out-of-State DUI
DUI Accident
DUI Penalties
Insurance Penalties
License Suspension
Driver's License 10 Day Rule





Send us an email

Martin County DUI Lawyer

License Suspension and DUI in Stuart, Florida

One of the many penalties that can be enforced when a person is convicted of DUI (driving under the influence) is driver’s license suspension. When the DHSMV (Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles) makes the decision to suspend the license of a person convicted of DUI it can be anywhere from 6 months to many years depending upon the seriousness surrounding a DUI case.

When a DUI arrest is made a person has only up to 10 days to schedule a DHSMV Administrative Hearing (also referred to as administrative per se hearing). The hearing is so that the DHSMV can review the facts of a DUI case and determine whether or not a person may retain their driving privileges by avoiding license suspension. When it is determined that a person was indeed driving while under the influence then an automatic suspension can be enforced, regardless of the outcome of the criminal court case.

Stuart Driver’s License Suspension

A person can also receive a driver’s license suspension for refusal to submit to a breath test or a blood test due to the implied consent law in Florida. Under this law when a person was first granted their driving privileges they automatically gave their consent at that time to be tested if ever under suspicion of DUI in Florida. A suspension under the implied consent law is automatic and can last anywhere from up to 1 year or more. In addition, the following license suspension DUI license suspension penalties can be enforced:

License Suspension for DUI:

  • First Offense DUI: up to 6 Months
  • Second Offense DUI: up to 1 Year
  • Third Offense DUI: up to 5 Years
  • Fourth Offense DUI: 5 Years to Permanent Suspension

Drunk Driving Attorney in Stuart, Florida

Even if the DHSMV makes the decision to allow a person to have their driver’s license back they can still receive a driver’s license suspension if convicted during the criminal court process. The only way to protect your legal rights and to safeguard your driving privileges would be to retain the legal services of a qualified Martin County DUI attorney in Florida. An attorney can mean all the difference for your case and can represent you during both the DHSMV Hearing and criminal court process. At David Golden, P.A., we protect clients charged with DUI. We will aggressively fight to avoid a conviction and a license suspension. Please contact our firm immediately to discuss the unique circumstances of your case and to learn more about your legal rights in Florida.

License suspension issues in Stuart, Florida? Contact a Stuart DUI lawyer today!

** A person may be granted a hardship license only if they are a first time DUI offender. Which would allow a person to drive to and from a place of education, employment and for medical purposes only**

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.
David Golden, P.A. - Stuart DUI Lawyer
Located at 903 SE Central Parkway, Stuart, FL 34994.
Phone: (800) 483-0998.
Local: (772) 220-4400.
Website: .