Martin County DUI Defense Lawyer
Stuart DUI Lawyer Martin DUI Defense Lawyer Law Firm Profile Common Criminal Defense Questions Free Case Evaluation Contact Us






DUI Defense
DUI Overview
Challenging DUI Charges
2nd Offense DUI
Felony DUI
Blood Alcohol Content
Blood / Breath Tests
Field Sobriety Tests
Spring Break DUI
Out-of-State DUI
DUI Accident
DUI Penalties
Insurance Penalties
License Suspension
Driver's License 10 Day Rule





Send us an email

City of Stuart DUI Lawyer

AV® Rated DUI Attorney

If you have been arrested and/or charged with DUI (driving under the influence) in Martin County, Florida you will need immediate legal advice, guidance and support. At David Golden, P.A., we provide outstanding legal representation to clients facing DUI in Stuart, Florida. Each Stuart DUI attorney from our team is very committed to our client’s legal rights and it is our goal to obtain the very best results possible.

Understanding DUI Charges

In the state of Florida there is a driver’s license 10 day rule in which a DHSMV (Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles) Hearing must be scheduled in order to contest losing your driving privileges. It is critical that we speak with you immediately so that we may schedule an appointment on your behalf before the 10 day period ends. Failure to schedule the hearing can result in an automatic license suspension for up to 1 year or more.

In addition to the possibility of losing your driving privileges, a person will also face the possibility that their freedom as they know it may end. A first time DUI offense alone can put a person behind bars for up to 1 year, in addition to many other DUI penalties. Do not take a chance on your future by failing to protect yourself! Contact Attorney David Golden today to schedule a free case consultation. David Golden, P.A. is AV-rated by Martindale-Hubbell for high ethical standards and legal ability. We represent clients in need of DUI defense for any type of driving under the influence charges including:

DUI Overview
Were you pulled over for suspected drunk driving? If you were arrested for DUI, there are probably many questions going through your mind. With the help of a legal representative, you could get the answers you need concerning penalties, charges, and other consequences of a conviction. Our team could review every aspect of your case and seek to get your charges and penalties dropped. Click here to read more about DUI overview.

Challenging DUI Charges
If you or a loved one were accused of driving under the influence, you do not need to plead guilty to your charges, no matter how serious you believe your case to be. Our team has experience in challenging DUI charges as well as the evidence that prosecutors use against them. Although the breath and blood test and the field sobriety tests can be helpful in determining whether someone is under the influence of alcohol, they are not foolproof. Click here to read more about challenging DUI charges.

2nd Offense DUI
If you were arrested for driving under the influence for the second time, the penalties you could be facing could increase. A second offense DUI occurring within five years of the last offense is usually charged as a misdemeanor. You could be jailed for up to 12 months and lose your license for a minimum of five years. Click here to read more about 2nd offense DUI.

Felony DUI
Although most DUI cases are charged as misdemeanors, there are some situations that are more serious and so are charged as felonies. Some examples of reasons you may be charged with a felony include: multiple DUI offenses, DUI involving an accident, or vehicular manslaughter. If you are facing a DUI charge that is a felony, your penalties could increase. You could be sent to jail for prison for up to five years, be fined up to $5,000, and even have your driver's license taken away permanently. Click here to read more about felony DUI.

Blood Alcohol Content
When you are pulled over for suspected drunk driving, one of the key ways a law enforcement officer will seek to determine whether or not someone was under the influence of alcohol is by testing their blood alcohol content. Blood alcohol content or concentration (BAC) can be tested by analyzing the blood in a lab or by administering a breath test with a breathalyzer device. Click here to read more about blood alcohol content.

Blood / Breath Tests
When an individual is pulled over for suspected drunk driving, the law enforcement officer may choose to administer a breath test or ask the driver to come back to the station for a breath test. However, even though these tests are accurate for the most part, errors can occur. We can challenge the results of your blood and breath test by determining whether or not it was properly administered, if the device was properly calibrated, or if the breath or blood sample was contaminated. Click here to read more about blood/breath tests.

Field Sobriety Tests
Instead of testing the driver's blood alcohol content through a breath analysis or blood test, the law enforcement officer could also ask the individual to submit to a field sobriety test. Horizontal gaze nystagmus, walk and turn test, and one leg stand test are all examples of the different tests you may be asked to submit to. However, even if you fail to successfully complete a test, it does not mean that you are guilty or that your case is hopeless. Click here to read more about field sobriety tests.

Spring Break DUI
Many students travel to Florida every year during spring break. Due to Florida's coastline and nightlife, it is a great way to get away from the stresses of school and relax. However, this could quickly turn into a nightmare if you were accused of driving under the influence. The normal legal limit for drinking and driving is 0.08%, however, if the student is under the age of 21, the limit is 0.02%. You could lose your driving privileges, be fined, and even sent to jail. Click here to read more about spring break DUI.

Out-of-State DUI
Were you accused of driving under the influence while outside of your home state? These cases are tricky as you could be facing charges both in your home state as well as in the state you were arrested in. For this reason, it is of the utmost importance that you retain a legal representative from the local area. You may think you can avoid any penalties by going home, but the authorities will forward the information regarding your arrest to your home state. Click here to read more about out-of-state DUI.

DUI Accident
If you were accused of driving under the influence, one of the aggravating factors that could make your situation even worse is if you allegedly caused an accident. Even if you are completely innocent of all wrongdoing, it is imperative that you retain the services of a strong legal representative to help defend you against this serious accusation. If someone suffered serious bodily injury or was killed, the situation will only become graver. Click here to read more about DUI accident.

DUI Penalties
If you were accused of driving under the influence, one of the questions that will undoubtedly plague your mind is what the possible penalties may be. For a first or second offense, you will most likely be charged with a misdemeanor. This could result in up to 12 months in jail, a $2,000 fine, 1 year probation, and DUI school. For a third or fourth offense, the charges could increase to a felony. You could be facing up to five years in prison and a $5,000 fine. Click here to read more about DUI penalties.

Insurance Penalties
One of the consequences that people often forget about regarding a DUI conviction is the effects it could have on insurance. After a conviction, they will be required to file a SR-22 form by their insurance company with the DMV. Under law this will have to remain on file for three years. Not only that, but your insurance company may actually cancel your insurance policy after a conviction or drastically increase your premiums. Click here to read more about insurance penalties.

License Suspension
One of the most inconvenient consequences of a DUI conviction is the license suspension. For a first DUI, you could lose your driving privileges for up to six months. For a second offense, this could increase up to one year, and they increase with each conviction. Many people do not realize how much they rely on their license until it is gone, and it can prove to be extremely difficult to hold down a job and take care of your family. Click here to read more about license suspension.

Driver's License 10 Day Rule
When a person is arrested for drunk driving, one of the immediate consequences is an automatic license suspension. Following this, they will have 10 days in which they can schedule a hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles and fight to get their license back. Having an attorney on your side at this hearing could make all the difference in regards to getting your license back. Click here to read more about driver's license 10 days rule.

Need an experienced attorney on your side? Contact a Stuart DUI attorney today!

The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.
David Golden, P.A. - Stuart DUI Lawyer
Located at 903 SE Central Parkway, Stuart, FL 34994.
Phone: (800) 483-0998.
Local: (772) 220-4400.
Website: .